Visas and Passport Information

Czech Republic is a member of the European Union (EU) and part of the Schengen area, thus most tourists do not require a visa to visit Prague and just a valid passport (or an ID Card for EU citizens).


Visas are not required for stays up to 90 days by citizens of these countries:

a. EU countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland

b. Albania*, Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bosnia & Herzegovina*,

Brazil, Brunei, Canada*, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong*, Israel,     Japan, Macedonia*, Macao*, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro*, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Christopher & Nevis, Salvador, San Marino, Serbia*, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan*, USA, Uruguay, Vatican, Venezuela.

* there are some restrictions. For more information please see:


Visas are also not required in the following circumstances:

(a) Schengen Visa: If travelers arrive with a valid Schengen visa either directly into the Czech Republic or via another Schengen area country, they are not required a further visa.

(b) Family member of an EU citizen: If a family member of an EU citizen who is not an EU citizen himself/herself holds a temporary or permanent residence permit in another EU country, he/she does not require a visa.

For more detailed  information please see:


Visas are required by all visitors not covered above.


If you are required a visa, please note the following:

a. Travelers with a visa must register with the police within 3 working days of arrival.

b. Visas are not available at border crossings or at Prague Airport. If you need a visa and arrive without one, you will be refused entry.

Contact Us