Újezd connects Karmelitská Street with the Kinsky Square. It measures about 550 m and in the past used to be part of the old road that led from the Lesser Town Square to South Bohemia and Germany.
The Újezd territory belonged to Smíchov and it used to be one of the oldest settlements in Prague. The Hunger Wall that was built during the reign of Charles IV cut the street in the middle – there used to be a gate to the Lesser Quarter. The name is derived from the word újezd – farm, land, which can be bypassed.
Today, it is an important traffic junction as it serves both automotive and tramway traffic. Here you will also find the funicular to the famous Petřín Hill and many cool pubs and bars that are worth a visit. More importantly, there is a memorial to the victims of Communism located at the base of Petřín Hill - it is a rather disturbing series of statues dedicated to the victims of the Communist era between 1948-1989.
The memorial was unveiled on May 22, 2002, and is the work by the Czech sculptor Olbram Zoubek and architects Jen Kerel and Zdeněk Holzel. It is a unique work of art – male statues appear to be disintegrating and decaying before our very eyes, the first man whole, to the last man, who becomes nothing and stands as a symbol of to what extent the political prisoners of the regime were affected. An interesting touch is the bronze strip in the center of the stairs – it tells the estimated number of people affected by the Communist regime.