Church of St. Ludmila
The Neo-Gothic Church of St. Ludmila is a two-tower basilica from built from 1888 to 1893, which dominates the Náměstí Míru Square in Vinohrady. Many distinguished artists of the time worked on the interior and exterior of the church; the project plan of the church was prepared by the architect Josef Mocker, a prominent architect, who also worked on the completion of St. Vitus Cathedral at Prague Castle.
Sculptor Josef Václav Myslbek, author of the statue of St. Wenceslas on the Wenceslas Square, also worked on the interior and exterior of the church. The foundation stone was laid on 25th November 1888 and it was consecrated on 8th October 1893. This church, easily recognisable by its 60 meter high twin spires, was built to accomodate the fast growing congregation in the Vinohrady district and boasts with an impressive organ and church choir. The structure consists of a triple nave basilica with and the transept of the church has the shape of the cross.
Interestingly, the towers have five storeys of unequal height and the tall windows with sun blinds are situated below the tower gables, which also feature the tower clocks. The portal features the sculpture made by Josef Václav Myslbek and in front of it there is a wide single flight of stairs. It is in this church that the remains of St Ludmila and St Wenceslas lie.